Band on the Wall have released a Manchester Fundraiser Compilation

Independent music venue Band on the Wall have released '2020' to provide support for Manchester artists.

By Manchester's Finest | 28 August 2020

Share this story

2020 features music from some of Band on the Wall’s favourite artists and closest friends on the new Manchester scene, with a vision of providing financial support for Manchester artists, with all proceeds split 50/50.

Featuring hand-picked tracks, contributed by artists whose music spans neo-soul, jazz, afro-electronic and more, 2020 is an eclectic discovery of inspired and curated sounds; a shining light on the emerging stars of Manchester’s live music scene.

2020 is the first from a series of fundraiser compilations to be released on Band on the Wall’s new in-house imprint; Band on the Wall Recordings. The compilation will be released as a CD from Band on the Wall’s website, Bandcamp and will be available digitally from all major platforms.

Gavin Sharp, CEO, Band on the Wall said; “In the first half of 2020 we, and many of the creators we work with, had to stop what we were doing and while activity initially stalled, it was clear that it would be impossible for the artists to stop creating and for us to stop celebrating their music. Therefore, the idea was born to help support our local creative partners and ourselves by producing this ‘memento’ of this incredibly strange year.”

“Super happy to be able to support and be supported within this new project. The track of mine used for the project is solely created by Manchester based artists and producers, and it’s great to come together with other Mancunians to keep the flag flying for artists and the charity.” – Mali Hayes, Musician

“As a result of Coronavirus, the day to day fabric of the music industry has been stripped away, leaving a lot of people out of work, and many venues in danger of permanent closure. Community-led projects like this are integral for artists and venues alike to stay afloat, as well as allowing for the creative output of a city to be voiced” – Tom Burford, Contours

01 Honeyfeet x Werkha – You Go To My Head (rewerked)
02 Mali Hayes – Oceans ft LayFullstop
03 Secret Night Gang – Don’t Mess With My Heart
04 Agbeko – There is a Jungle (Live)
05 Porij – Closer
06 Lovescene – To The Side
07 Skeltr – Lojong
08 Contours – Northbound
09 Cervo – Reaching
10 Katbrownsugar ft Al Turnbull – Jungle
11 Yemi Bolatiwa – Troubled Living
12 Shunya – The Clay & The Sculpture
13 Lieko Quintet – Black Lake
14 MSC Big Band – Grown Ups (Live)


Buy Online